The Data Scientist

The Fourth Paradigm

My colleague at work today pointed me to the following article, which describes the intersection of technology, data, and the scientific method.

http://www.dbta.com/Articles/Columns/Applications-Insight/The-Rise-of-the-Data-Scientist-75428.aspx

The article mentions the book “The Fourth Paradigm“, which describes this new paradigm of data-driven discovery.  I will need to put it on my long list of books to read (which I am making very slow progress through.. sigh). There is a review of the book here

It talks about using tools such as Hadoop, MapReduce, SAS/SPSS/R to crunch through lots of scientific data to obtain meaningful information.

It pretty well sums up where I see myself heading/positioning myself, from a ‘data-centric’ viewpoint.

2 Comments

Filed under Data, Data Management

2 responses to “The Data Scientist

  1. JZF

    MapReduce is pretty slick. Cool stuff.

  2. Pingback: Rebranding as Data Scientists | It all comes out in the wash…

Leave a Reply

