Fun with R

a Riemannian circle

A Great Circle (a Riemannian circle), the basis of his maps

I came across this today on Flowing Data (a blog which I sometimes nod my head at, and (at times) frown and shake my head slowly).

Here is some interesting things you can do with R, a tool I learned to use during my Masters program at UVA. We never got into this kind of use, so it is a bit of an eye opener.

http://flowingdata.com/2011/05/11/how-to-map-connections-with-great-circles/

The flight data in the Flowingdata example follows the same method as

http://paulbutler.org/archives/visualizing-facebook-friends/ used for facebook connections.

Leave a comment

Filed under Data, UVA

Leave a Reply

